31
Aug
08

Wind of change coming my way

I made a BIG decision last week when I was in Singapore, in regards to my work. Actually before I went to Singapore I already being scheduled for a job interview there. On that day I rushed from my work directly to Fullerton hotel for the interview. Gosh I was so nervous because I have not gone through any job interview (as interviewee) in the past 10 years! My palm was sweating and I don’t know what to be expected.Its a European company which has production, sales, and R&D centers across the world. Market leader in modern energy. (Can’t reveal more at the moment)

The interviewer consists of 3 nationalities: German, Denmark and India. The whole interview session lasted for almost 1.5 hours and by the time I walked out of the room i felt so exhausted πŸ™‚ I would rate my performance only a 7/10 because there were several questions that I didn’t manage to answer properly. But I think they liked my character as I was being honest and straightforward to them. During the interview, unconsciously I always used the word ‘we’ instead of ‘I’. The guy stopped me and asked why I phrase my answer in such a way, then I realized it and told them that I have been working with my team so its always a ‘we’ and not ‘I’. I thought it was wrong for me to not emphasize my value, but they told me they appreciate it very much, they want people whole can work as a team, because in their company there’s only the team, and no individuals. So I think I strike a home-run with that, unconsciously πŸ™‚Β  Anyway I didn’t put any high hope of making the cut because I felt that the gap between my capabilities and the one that they were looking for was quite substantial.

But next day the agent called me (the arrangement was done through an agent), and said that they accepted me and told me the salary that they would be offering. Its quite a substantial increase from what I am having now (even without considering the exchange rate). But after some discussion with my good friend/colleague in Singapore, I upped my request and finally they accepted. And they gave me some reallocation allowance too, although I didn’t ask for it. Such a generous company. As part of the initiation/training program they will send me and other newcomers to Denmark for 2 months, that sounds excellent for me πŸ™‚

I was so anxious and I don’t know what I should do next, because my boss is currently arranging my visit to Japan in order to discuss my future career path. Finally I decided to talk to my boss openly and he understood my rationale behind the decision and agreed with it. I know he must be very disappointed with my decision to quit the company but ultimately as a friend he hoped that I can have a brighter future, as compared to what is possible in the current company.

All in all I was very grateful for my boss to accept my decision whole heartedly. Its never an easy decision on my part but after considering many things (work prospect, pay, my wife, parents etc etc), I felt that the timing was right for me to have a career change, and hopefully a good turning point in my life.

My girlfriend was so shocked with the speed of my decision. πŸ™‚ The man that she knows always lived in a comfort zone and very seldom make a big decision in such a speedy manner. She worried that I will be ‘downgraded’ when I took up the new job because it seems like I am will not be involved in management area, instead I will be specifically assigned to a particular functional area. But I talked to her that one can excel no matter in what condition, as long as we work enthusiastically and of course smartly. She always thought that I wanted to work in Japan with present company, and I would definitely reluctant to work in Singapore. All in all I managed to surprised her, something that only happen once in a blue moon πŸ™‚

Anyway, I have yet to tender in my resignation, because I have yet to receive the offer letter from the company as they need some time to prepare it. I hope next week I can receive it, and then I shall inform my management officially of my decision. Nonetheless, I have inform my boss (2 of them actually) about my consideration, I don’t want to come to office and just give them the resignation letter, I think I have been working with them for 12 years and they been taking good care of me, so I should at least let them know what’s going on, as a sign of respect to them.

Well, I am definitely looking forward for the new challenges, Its time for me to breath in ‘new’ air, European air that is, after inhaling Japanese air for so long πŸ™‚ Everyone that I know, who walked out of the Japanese ‘door’ to European/American company told me of the big culture difference, so its about time for me to find it out.

I will disclose more about my new employment in due course, after I put my signature on the dotted line πŸ™‚

Cheers!

2 Responses to “Wind of change coming my way”


  1. 1 sansan
    September 1, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    haha.. congratulations my dear friend. you shocked me too. this speedy decision really shocked me, too!! you are all the while more on conservative and very careful. but then, am happy for you. seems that your ship are sailing smoothly these days. πŸ™‚
    so, going to base in Singapore? or?

  2. 2 Chui Chui
    September 2, 2008 at 12:08 am

    Hey CS, congratulations and well done! Let me know if you are visiting the UK during your training in Denmark. We could meet up at some stage. Very happy for you.


Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 36,420 rings

Top Clicks

  • None

